The Call to Adventure

By Evergreen Escapes founder and owner Jake Haupert, a firm believer in Joseph Campbell’s philosophy on The Hero’s Journey.  Here Jake shares the relevance of transformation through the art of intentional travel. He’ll be at the Transformational Travel Talk at The Adventure Hub & Winery on Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 5:30pm, along with our presenter, Muddy Shoe Adventures founder, Michael Bennett, Ed.D..

I remember the day when I first heard my own calling, my mind had been swirling, my soul entangled with some of life’s biggest questions. What was I meant to do, where was I meant to be, and what fulfills and inspires me?  I sought out a nearby bluff overlooking the ocean in Solano Beach, California, At twilight that evening, I had my light bulb moment, I had identified my life purpose: leveraging the power of travel to cultivate personal growth, inspire conservation and bring humanity closer together. Listening to my own internal compass, I returned home, to the beautiful Pacific NW, targeting the mecca for adventure travel – Seattle, Washington. I lived out of my Cherokee for a month, passionate canvasser for Green Peace by day, dedicated student in travel school by night. I was on a mission, I was going to start my own adventure travel company and I was going to make a difference. By combining my love for travel, natural curiosity, appreciation for authentic human interaction, reverence for the planet, and an unquenchable entrepreneurial spirit – I charted a course, set my sails, followed the stars and caught the wind.

Eight years later and I still never feel more alive than when I travel. Every single time, my journeys take my breath away, center me and invite me deeper and deeper into myself, my purpose, and my values. Whether it be the natural acoustics of a rainforest, the thrill of a wildlife encounter or the open arms of new people and cultures, I listen to my inner voice, follow the call and surrender to its magic. It’s like my consciousness is amplified and the answers to my struggles are illuminated. There is an interconnectivity that exists when we are open to it, and I find that travel acts as a conduit for internal change and personal growth.  Interestingly enough, I am now realizing that the experience of place and inter-connectivity that happens on safari, in the outback, in the mountains, and at sea, can also happen in my own community, back home. I no longer feel it’s necessary to be in a far away place or a culturally different “destination.” It’s more the lens we are peering through, the awareness we bring to being where we are in the moment, whether at our local park or tracking black-rhino in Namibia. When the call of adventure beckons, I reach out, touch it, drink it in, immerse with purpose and take those moments of awakening back home and integrate them into my life. These experiences, the stillness, the contemplative state it invokes, inspires me to be a better friend, a better partner, a better dad and a better global citizen. I’ve dedicated my life to the transformative power of travel and want to share those experiences with you. We want to be a catalyst in your personal journey, invite you to be authentic, challenge who you are, explore where you are going, and chart a course to find what you are looking for.

So, what is transformational travel?

At Evergreen Escapes, we believe that adventure travel is transformative by nature. It challenges your perceptions and abilities, removes you from your comfort zone, and pushes you to reach a higher self. Transformational travel is an embrace of this ethos. It’s about accepting the call of adventure, traveling with intention, and allowing the unknown to drive personal or professional growth.

Who is it for? 

Transformational travel is for anyone looking to connect with themselves by experiencing the world. We understand that many of us travel when we are seeking something new in our lives, wondering what comes next, or celebrating a recent life accomplishment. Transformational travel is an opportunity to not only celebrate or break from these life milestones but to pause and reflect on their impact on our lives. If you are open to traveling with a purpose, engaging with your authentic self, and inspiring change through your experiences, transformational travel may be a good fit for you!

Why is transformative travel important to Evergreen Escapes?

We believe transformational travel provides enriching explorations that nourish your soul and restore your sense of self. Our hope is that you can in turn use that renewed self and purpose to benefit the planet we inhabit, the community you live in, and the places you visit in the future.

How does Evergreen Escapes inspire transformational travel?

We always start by asking a simple question – why? Why do you want to travel, why did you seek us out, and why might you be looking for change? Answering this question allows us to develop a pre-trip manifesto of your goals and outcomes, and to match you with a trip that fits your intentions.

Once we’ve discussed your goals and outcomes you can choose from two types of transformational travel – facilitated small group tours or personalized private journeys:

1. Facilitated Small Group Adventures

We believe that the best way to achieve personal transformation is in a professionally facilitated small group setting.    That’s why we work with the expert facilitators at Muddy Shoe Adventures to offer transformational small group tours. These small group tours use facilitated group discussions, guided reflections, and adventure activities to help you uncover both the destination and yourself.

After your trip, we’ll help you create a plan to put your inspiration into action. We know that as you return to your everyday life it’s easy to discard your intentions and lapse into past routines. By proactively planning a reintegration strategy, we’ll help you stay accountable to yourself and remain focused on your goals.

2. Personalized Private Journeys

If you prefer to embark on your own, we will help you embrace your call of adventure with a personalized private journey. Whether it’s climbing to the snowy peak of Mt. Kilimanjaro, journeying deep into the Amazon jungle or visiting a remote Himba village in Namibia – we’ll help curate experiences designed to send you into the unknown and challenge your perspectives. By crafting your pre-trip manifesto and designing an itinerary designed to expose you to transformative moments, we hope we can set you on an introspective path to personal transformation.

Leave a Reply

